2017 Athletic Awards Banquet

2017 Athletic Awards Banquet

The FMCC student-athletes gathered at HFM Boces Wednesday evening to celebrate another successful academic and athletic year. Each coach had the opportunity to acknowledge the Raiders for their many accomplishments on the playing field and in the classroom.  

Click Here for Athletic Banquet Photo Gallery

Photo: Athletic Director Kevin Jones, Female Athlete of the Year Miranda Nethaway and Male Athlete of the Year Kerome Grant. 

Chris Rogers, Coordinator for Student Athlete Academic Success presented academic awards.  Twelve student-athletes were recognized for their grade point average being a 3.5 or better. Twenty-one student-athletes were honored as members of FM's "3.0 club," which recognizes those that have a grade point average above a 3.0.

The academic athletes of the year were honored.  The female and male Academic Athletes of the year are volleyball's Jenna Putnam and soccer's Wolfgang Reinke.  The most improved academic student athletes were Sabriana Franck and Cory Moore.  Women's Cross Country and Volleyball were honored for the highest team GPA's.

Photo: Kevin Jones, Academic Athletes of the Year Jenna Putnam and Wolfgang Reinke, and Coordinator for Student Athlete Academic Success Chris Rogers. 

The male and female Athlete of the Year awards went to three sport athlete, Miranda Nethaway and men's basketball Kerome Grant.   Volleyball Coach Rachael Salvione was honored for being named Region III Coach of the Year and Conference Coach of the Year.  Soccer Coach Cory Leggiero was honored for Mountain Valley Conference Coach of the Year.

Photo: Kevin Jones, Female Athlete of the Year Miranda Nethaway and Male Athlete of the Year Kerome Grant. 

Individual Player Awards:

Men's Soccer

MVP: Aiden VanLoan

MVP: Austin Heroth


Coach's Awards: Emily and Brittany Orminski 

MVP: Jenna Putnam and Miranda Nethaway

Photo: Head Soccer Coach Cory Leggiero and Soccer MVP Aiden VanLoan 

Cross Country

Coach's Awards: Renee Bellinger and Jon Knack

Women's Basketball                           

Coach's Awards: Rylie Smith, Karizma Fleurimond and Shantel Acevedo  

Men's Basketball

MVP: Kerome Grant and Dante Morgan

Most Improved: Saquan Goland

Men's Bowling

MVP: Damian Sullivan

Most Improved: Charlie Cusano

Mountain Valley Conference High Single Game: Charlie Cusano, 279

Photo: Men's Bowling MVP Damian Sullivan and Head Coach Tom Rathbun.

Women's Bowling

MVP: Kendra Sweet

Most Improved: Sydney Palmatier

Coach's Award: Shirley Glynn


Coach's Awards: Julie Hampton, Megan Patterson and Gabrielle Smith                                            


Coach's Award: Cameron DeRocker

*Baseball Awards will be announced at the conclusion of their season.

Conference and Regional Awards 

Photo (below right): Miranda Nethaway, Jenna Putnam, Kerome Grant, Dante Morgan and Kevin Jones. 

Jenna Putnam, Volleyball-1st Team All-Region and 1st Team All-Conference and Conference Player of the Year

Miranda Nethaway,Volleyball-2nd Team All-Region and 1st Team All-Conference

Joseph Perez, Soccer- Mountain Valley All-Conference Goalie of the Year

Kerome Grant, Men's Basketball-3rd Team All-Region and 2nd Team All-Conference

Dante Morgan, Men's Basketball-3rd Team All-Region and 3rd Team All-Conference

Rylie Smith, Women's Basketball-3rd Team All-Conference

Photo (right): All Conference recipients-Kerome Grant, Rylie Smith, Miranda Nethaway, Joe Perez, Dante Morgan and Kevin Jones.

Raiders 3.0 Club (Photo Below) 

Soccer-David Vandenabeele, Matthew Smrtic, John Capovani, and Aiden VanLoan

Volleyball-Brittany Orminski, Emily Orminski,

Cross Country-Shawntel Rivera

Bowling-Sydney Palmatier

Women's Basketball-Julie Hampton, and Mariama Jaw

Men's Basektball-Dylan O'Connor and Nick Taylor

Baseball-Ryan Cullam, Kyle Agresta, Coby Caraballo, Ryan McNamara, Cory Moore and Justin Putnam

Softball-Julie Hampton, Braelin Aldi, and Charlene Moreira

Raiders 3.5 Club (Photo Below)

Soccer-Cameron Monks, Wolfgang Reinke and Austin Heroth

Volleyball-Miranda Nethaway, Gabrielle Smith, Jenna Putnam and Megan Ryder

Cross Country-Renee Bellinger

Bowling: Charlie Cusano

Women's Basketball-Miranda Nethaway

Baseball-Richard Umholtz

Softball-Gabrielle Smith and Miranda Nethaway